How to manage your Zoom Cloud recordings

With so much corporate collaboration now taking place through video conferencing apps like Zoom, recordings are an essential feature.

The company launched its cloud recording capability in 2021, which allowed authorized users to save meeting recordings directly to an online archive for future retrieval and use. This makes it possible to store a person’s recordings in one place, with appropriate access rights and permissions for sharing. The feature is so convenient and intuitive that if you leave the meeting before you finish recording on Zoom, the file will be automatically created and stored anyway.

As a result, teams can record all their conversations virtually and maintain complete transparency and accountability, confident that their discussions are documented even if someone leaves the meeting before the recording is officially ended on Zoom. This is critical to managing Zoom cloud recordings and making the most of this feature.

How to create Zoom Cloud Recording?

The Zoom meeting host has the option to record the conference. To participate in the meeting, individuals must agree to register. If another person wishes to register, the host must either grant the authorization to that person during the meeting or designate the individual as an alternate host. Regardless of who started the recording, they should follow these steps:

  • The Record button appears at the bottom of the current meeting window. If the person’s screen is partially minimized, look for the More button….
  • When you click on the Register button, you will be given the option to “Register on this PC” or “Register to the cloud”. Choose the latter.
  • The pause and stop buttons will replace the record button.
  • The top left tab informs the status of the recording in progress and includes additional controls for pausing and stopping. The cloud icon represents the cloud recording. You can check this icon and stop recording if the top left shows a regular circle-shaped recording icon (which stands for local computer recordings) instead of a cloud-shaped icon.
  • Pause allows you to stop recording and restart without having to create repetitive recordings. Pausing will terminate the recording.
  • When cloud recording is stopped, you will see a verification message – click “Yes” to create a Zoom cloud recording. Users should note that processing does not start until the conference is over. This is true even if you don’t leave the meeting before you finish recording on Zoom.

Another way to create a Zoom recording on the cloud is to enable automatic recording. It’s a setting that allows the host to start recording automatically as the meeting or webinar starts – log into the Zoom web portal as an administrator with the ability to change account settings. Click Manage Account, then Account Settings in the navigation menu. To enable or disable automatic recording, go to the Recording tab and turn on the Auto Recording switch.

How to store Zoom Cloud Recording?

The Zoom cloud recording file is stored automatically after it is created. Here are the steps to access it and change the storage location, if necessary:

  • Zoom sends an email to the host notifying them that the cloud processing has been completed.
  • The email contains two links. The first is available exclusively to the meeting host. The second may be distributed to the attendees. The first link allows meeting hosts to begin downloading the recording.
  • You can access the recording by following the email link or using the Zoom online portal or desktop program. Choose Meetings from the top menu, followed by the Recorded tab.
  • Click the Download button to save the recording to your chosen location, such as your computer or OneDrive.

How to edit or “cut” a recording?

After capturing a session in Zoom, you can trim or clip it by following the instructions below. Trimming the recording affects playback for viewers, so no original material is lost.

To get started, go to the Zoom website. Go to Recordings and choose the recording you want to cut. To access the viewer/editor, press play on the recording thumbnail. Click the scissors icon in the bottom right corner of the player. Move the playhead arrow keys to the appropriate start and end timings, and you’re done.

Understanding Zoom Recording Layouts

Depending on the video layout of your meeting, there are several recording systems for Zoom cloud recordings.

The recording layout follows the video layout of the user or host who initiated the recording. For example, suppose the host provides participant recording permission, and the participant initiates a local recording while being part of the active speaker view. In this case, the layout will be in the view of the active speaker.

The layouts applied in cloud recordings are:

  • Active Speaker Layout: Recording will only display the active speaker video if you are in active speaker mode.
  • Gallery view layout: If you are in Gallery mode, the recording will resemble the meeting client and display the grid arrangement of participants’ snapshots. A maximum of 25 people can be shown in the exhibition show recording.
  • Shared window layout: If you’re sharing a window that doesn’t fill the entire screen, the recording will show black bars on the left and right of the window.
  • Shared screen with active speaker: If you broadcast your screen with the active speaker’s thumbnail, the active speaker’s thumbnail will be displayed in the top-right corner of the video.
  • Shared screen without active speaker or gallery view: If you share your screen without displaying the thumbnail of the active speaker or if you deselect the Record thumbnails while the sharing option is active in the cloud recording settings, the recording will display the shared screen.

Leave the meeting before ending the recording when zooming in

This is a question that is frequently encountered when one starts managing Zoom recordings. Ideally you should choose “Register” and then choose either “Record on this computer” or “Sign to the cloud”. When you have finished recording, press the Stop Recording button. If you fail to do so, the recording will be terminated when you leave the meeting room. It will be stored either in the cloud of the individual who created the session or in your computer’s local storage.