Seven things to look for like a queen lies in a country | UK news

It’s been seven decades since the previous king’s death, so the UK is unfamiliar with the traditions and occasions that have emerged since the Queen’s death last week.

After the processions and vigils by the royal family, it is now the public’s turn to bid farewell to the Queen as she lies in state.

Tens of thousands of people queued for hours to watch her coffin in Westminster Hall, where royalty in the state have resided for more than a century.

The Queen Lies in the State – Latest Updates

Here is a guide to what to look for in the hall.

1. Imperial crown, orb and sceptre

The Queen wore the tiara at her coronation in 1953. It was also used on other occasions such as the official opening of Parliament.

The crown, which now rests on her coffin, is made of gold and encrusted with 2,868 diamonds, 17 rubies, 11 emeralds, 269 pearls, and four rubies.

It contains gems including the Black Prince’s sapphire, Stuart Sapphire, and the Cullinan 2 diamond.

St Edward’s Sapphire, located in the center of the highest cross, is said to have been worn in a ring by St Edward the Confessor and discovered in his tomb in 1163.

The crown was created to crown the Queen’s father, King George VI, in 1937.

Next to the crown are the orb and sceptre – both dating from 1661. They were presented to the Queen during her coronation.

The orb is a golden sphere surmounted by a cross reminding the king that their power derives from God.

The sceptre, a 3-foot-tall golden rod, is associated with good judgment and bears the world’s largest colorless cut diamond, the Cullinan I.


2. Flowers

On the other side of the crown is a wreath.

They are white roses, white spray roses, white dahlias, and foliage, including pine from gardens in Balmoral and Petosporum and lavender and rosemary from gardens in Windsor.

3. Royal Standard

The coffin is covered with a royal standard representing the king and the United Kingdom.

The Royal Standard was flown when the Queen was staying in one of the royal palaces, on the Queen’s car on official trips and on planes (when on the ground).

On the flag, there are four quadrants – England (three feral lions) in the first and fourth quadrants, Scotland (a rampaging lion) in the second quadrant and Ireland (harp) in the third quadrant.

Click to subscribe to Sky News Daily wherever you get your podcast

Wales is not represented on the Royal Standard, as its special status as a principality was recognized by the creation of the Prince of Wales long before the accommodation centers for Scotland and Ireland were incorporated into the Royal Arms.

In Scotland, a different version of the Royal Standard is used, with Scottish arms in the first and fourth quartiles and English arms in the second quartile.

The queen resides in the state

4. Catavalk

After eight guards carried the coffin into Westminster Hall, they raised it to its place on the platform, a raised platform.

Four large yellow candles surround the platform.

5. Wanamaker via

Standing on top of the coffin is a cross of Wanamaker.

It is one of the Four Crosses of Westminster Abbey, it is made of ivory and gilded silver, and decorated with a chain of gold plates and hammered sapphires.

Wanamaker Cross

On the one hand, the panels show the Crucifixion with representations of the Annunciation, birth, resurrection, and ascension on the arms of the cross.

On the other side is Jesus Christ, with groups of apostles on the cross of hands. The small panels show the emblems of the missionaries and the figures of angels.

6. Yomen guard

Among those guarding the casket in the 24-hour vigil is the Yeoman Guard, the oldest military corps still in existence.

They were originally the king’s bodyguard, and were created by King Henry VII in 1485 after the Battle of Bosworth Field.

Today the corps is usually expected to perform ceremonial duties about eight times a year.

7. Domestic cavalry

Cavalry personnel also guard the sarcophagus.

The Household Cavalry is a union of the two largest regiments in the British Army – the Life Guards and the Blues & Royals.

The queen resides in the state

It is divided into a cavalry regiment and a cavalry regiment.

The Home Cavalry Regiment is the operational unit that provides armored reconnaissance.

The home cavalry regiment is the ceremonial face of the regiment.

Read more:
How the accidental death of the former prime minister inspired a royal tradition
PHOTOS: Meghan joins the royal family in coffin procession

Other soldiers guarding the coffin include members of the Grenadier Guard.

The guards change places every 20 minutes.